Free Trial

Safari Books Online is a digital library providing on-demand subscription access to thousands of learning resources.

  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

4. Working with Calendars and Reminders > Sharing Your Calendars with Others

Sharing Your Calendars with Others

Perhaps the most useful thing about iCloud’s calendar is its ability to share your calendars and events with family, colleagues, and friends who are also using iCloud. You can allow other people to share any of your calendars, and they can ask you to share theirs. Of course, you can still have calendars that are private to you; iCloud will synchronize those private calendars among all your devices, but nobody else will be able to see them. You can have any mix of shared and private calendars you want.

There’s a difference between sharing and inviting. When you share, you’re sharing a whole calendar and all its events with another iCloud user. When you invite, you are offering to share a particular event with another person, whether or not they are using iCloud. Keep this difference in mind when you decide which of the kinds of collaboration you want. For example, I’m comfortable in sharing most of my calendars with my wife. But there might be a particular meeting on my Work calendar that I have with an editor; rather than share the whole calendar, I’d be likely to simply invite that editor to only that one meeting; the invitation will be sent via email. When the editor accepts the invitation, the event appears for both of us.

iCloud’s calendar sharing uses the industry-standard CalDAV protocol, so you can share calendars with people running iCal or variety of other calendar programs on the Mac, and Microsoft Outlook 2007 or later on Windows.

To turn on calendar sharing

1. On the calendar application of the iCloud website, the Calendars List will show a Share icon next to each calendar image. A gray icon indicates the calendar isn’t being shared, and a green icon indicates that it is.

image

image The icons next to the calendars tell you the calendar’s sharing status.

2. Click a gray icon to begin the sharing process.

The Share Calendar popover appears image.

image

image Enter the name and the sharing privileges for each person with which you want to share the calendar.

3. In most cases, you’re going to want to share the calendar privately with one or more people. Click the Private Calendar radio button, then in the field underneath, begin typing the person’s name or email address. iCloud will do a lookup of your Contacts list and provide a pop-up menu with possible matches. Click a contact with the mouse to select it.

4. Choose whether you want the person to be able to View & Edit the calendar (that’s the default choice) or to just be able to View the calendar.

You might want to make a calendar read-only (the View choice) if the events of the calendar are ones that you merely want to have the other person informed about, but not to be able to change, such as your business travel plans.

5. (Optional) Repeat steps 3 and 4 for anyone else you want to share the calendar with.

6. Click Share.

iCloud displays a confirmation message image, and sends email invitations to the people you chose image. If they accept the invitation by clicking the Join Calendar button in the email, they’ll be added to the calendar.

image

image When the sharing process is underway, iCloud lets you know.

image

image Invitees get an email invitation to your calendars. Accepting the invitation is as easy as clicking the Join Calendar button.

7. (Optional) If you click the Email me when this calendar is changed checkbox, you’ll get an email when anyone other than you makes a change to the calendar.

8. Click OK.


Tip

If you share one of your calendars, you are considered to be the calendar’s owner. Only you have the right to allow other people to view or edit the calendar. Conversely, if you are sharing someone else’s calendar you only have the privileges they have allowed you. And you can’t change those privileges for yourself or anyone else.



Tip

To check the status of a calendar you don’t own, click the green Share icon next to it. iCloud will show you the Shared Calendar Info popover image.

image

image You can see who is sharing calendars that you don’t own.



Tip

To remove someone from calendar sharing of the calendar you own, click the Share icon, which brings up the Share Calendar popover. The popover will show you the people who are currently sharing the calendar. Click on the person who you would like to remove from sharing, then click the red minus icon next to their name.



Tip

You can stop sharing a calendar altogether by clicking the Share icon, which brings up the Share Calendar popover, and clicking the Stop Sharing button at the bottom. You’ll get the usual iCloud confirmation dialog; click Stop Sharing again.


  • Safari Books Online
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint