Free Trial

Safari Books Online is a digital library providing on-demand subscription access to thousands of learning resources.

  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL

Chapter 2 Understanding Microsoft virtua... > MICROSOFT’S IT MATURITY MODEL


Microsoft’s maturity model consists of four levels: Basic, Standardized, Rationalized, and Dynamic. Each level above Basic steps IT closer to the role of strategic asset.

image Basic—This is a fire-fighting mode. Most organizations find themselves at this level, with IT agility and cost containment constrained by complete reliance on manual, uncoordinated implementation and management of resources.

image Standardized—IT managers, realizing the futility of using manual processes to dislodge IT from its traditional role of electronic data processing, begin to automate critical processes to enable the business to compete more effectively. They also implement enterprise monitoring and management tools.

image Rationalized—Technology begins to remove itself as a business constraint. Instead, IT is able to quickly react to changes in strategic or operational business requirements. IT teams no longer struggle to stay ahead of the changing business environment. In fact, they actually begin to drive business process improvements.


You are currently reading a PREVIEW of this book.


Get instant access to over $1 million worth of books and videos.


Start a Free 10-Day Trial

  • Safari Books Online
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint