Free Trial

Safari Books Online is a digital library providing on-demand subscription access to thousands of learning resources.

  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL
Help

6. The User Lifecycle > Deactivating Users

Deactivating Users

When a user should no longer have access to JIRA, they can be deactivated. This is preferable to deleting them, which removes useful historical information (and is also more work). The term is also less ambiguous than disabling someone. A deactivated user cannot log in and also does not appear in lists of users (e.g., for assigning issues).

The steps to deactivate a user (in JIRA 5.1 and later versions) are simple:

  1. Go to AdministrationUser ManagementUsers.

  2. Find the user, and click Edit.

  3. Uncheck the Active checkbox and click Update.

The user will no longer appear be able to log in to JIRA even though they are not removed from the jira-users group. The user does not count towards the licensed user count. Their name will have (Inactive) appended, and they will not receive email. However, any issues currently assigned to the user will still be assigned to the same inactive user, but a bulk change can be used to reassign them to an active user. More details can be found at http://bit.ly/11CYl4W.


  

You are currently reading a PREVIEW of this book.

                                                                                                                    

Get instant access to over $1 million worth of books and videos.

  

Start a Free Trial


  
  • Safari Books Online
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint