Free Trial

Safari Books Online is a digital library providing on-demand subscription access to thousands of learning resources.


The IBM eServer xSeries 445 is the IBM flagship industry standard server and is the second generation implementation of the 32-bit IBM XA-32 chipset as part of the Enterprise X-Architecture strategy. The x445 provides new levels of high availability and price performance, and offers scalability from two-way to 32-way SMP, from 2 GB to 256 GB of memory, and up to 36 PCI slots, all in one single system image.

This IBM Redbook is a comprehensive resource on the technical aspects of the server, and is divided into six key subject areas:

Chapter 1, "Technical description" introduces the server and its subsystems and describes the key features.

Chapter 2, "Positioning" examines the types of applications that are used on the x445 server.

Chapter 3, "Planning" describes the aspects of planning to purchase and install the x445.

Chapter 4, "Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition" describes the IBM Datacenter program.

Chapter 5, "Installation" goes through the process of installing supported operating systems.

Chapter 6, "Management" describes how to use the key IBM Director extensions designed for the x445 including the new Scalable Systems Manager.

Subscriber Reviews

Average Rating: 0 out of 5 rating Based on 0 Ratings

No Subscribers have provided a review for this book.

Table of Contents