Free Trial

Safari Books Online is a digital library providing on-demand subscription access to thousands of learning resources.

  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint
Share this Page URL

Timeline of algorithms

Timeline of algorithms

The following timeline outlines the development of algorithms since their inception.

Before 1940:
C. 2000 BC-Indian mathematicians invent zero, decimal and positional number system, algorithms for arithmetic operations .
C. 1600 BC-Babylonians develop first algorithms
C. 1000 BC-Indians (Narad Purana) algorithms for square and cube roots
C. 800 BC-Indians (Sulba Sutra) pre-invent Pythagorus theorem
C. 600 BC-Panini gives Data Structures and Algorithms for phonetics, phonology, word morphology and syntax of Sanskrit grammar, formal language theory, symbolic representation and functions
C. 300 BC-Euclid’s algorithm
C. 200 BC-The Sieve of Eratosthenes
263-Gaussian elimination described by Liu Hui
470-Aryabhatta gives astronomical algorithms in Surya Siddhanta
560-Varahmihir gives algorithms for permutations and combinations
1614-John Napier develops method for performing calculations using logarithms
1671-Newton-Raphson method developed by Issaac Newton
1690-Newton-Raphson method independently developed by Joseph Raphson
1805-Cooley- Thukey algorithm known by Carl Friedrich Gauss
1926-Boruvka’s algorithm
1945-Merge sort developed by John von Neumann
1947-Simplex algorithm developed by George Dantzig
1952-Huffman coding developed by David A. Huffman
1954-Radix sort computer algorithm developed by Harold H. Seward.
1956-Kruskal’s algorithm developed by Joseph Kruskal
1957-Prim’s algorithm developed by Robert Prim
1957-Bellman-Ford algorithm developed by R. Bellman and L. R. Ford
1959-Dijkstra’s algorithm developed by Edsger Dijkstra
1959-Shell sort developed by D. L. Shell
1959-De Casteljau’s algorithm developed by Paul de Casteljau
1962-Quicksort developed by C. A. R. Hoare
1962-Ford-Fulkerson algorithm developed by L. R. Ford and D. R. Fulkerson
1962-Bresenham’s line algorithm developed by Jack E. Bresenham
1964-Heapsort developed by J. W. J. Williams
1965-Cooley-Thukey algorithm rediscovered by James Cooley and John Thukey
1965-Levenshtein distance developed by Vladimir Levenshtein
1965-Cocke-Younger-Kasami (CYK) algorithm independently developed by T. Kasami
1967-Viterbi algorithm proposed by Andrew Viterbi
1967-Cocke-Younger-Kasami (CYK) algorithm independently developed by D. H. Younger
1970-Knuth-Bendix completion algorithm developed by Donald Knuth and P. B. Bendix
1972-Graham scan developed by Ronald Graham
1973-RSA encryption algorithm discovered by Clifford Cocks
1973-Jarvis march algorithm developed by R. A. Jarvis
1974-Pollard’s p-1 algorithm developed by John Pollard
1975-Genetic algorithms popularized by John Holland
1975-Pollard’s rho algorithm developed by John Pollard
1975-Aho-Corasick algorithm developed by Alfred V. Aho and Margaret J. Corasick
1976-Salamin-Brent algorithm independently discovered by Eugene Salamin and Richard Brent
1976-Knuth-Morris-Pratt algorithm developed by Donald Knuth and Vaughan Pratt and independently by J. H. Morris
1977-RSA encryption algorithm rediscovered by Ron Rivest, Adi Shamir, and Len Adleman
1977-LZ77 algorithm developed by Abraham Lempel and Jacob Ziv
1978-LZ78 algorithm developed from LZ77 by Abraham Lempel and Jacob Ziv.
1978-Bruun’s algorithm proposed for powers of two by G. Bruun
1979-Khaciyan’s ellipsoid method developed by Leonid Khaciyan
1981-Quadratic sieve developed by Carl Pomerance
1983-Simulated annealing developed by S. Kirkpatrick, C. D. Gelatt and M. P. Vecchi
1984-LZW algorithm developed from LZ78 by Terry Welch
1984-Karmarkar’s interior-point algorithm developed by Narendra Karmarkar
1985-Simulated annealing independently developed by V. Cerny
1986-Blum Blum Shub proposed by L. Blum, M. Blum, and M. Shub
1987-RC4 (cipher) developed by Ron Rivest
1987-Skipjack (cipher) designed by NSA
1988-Special number field sieve developed by John Pollard
1990-General number field sieve developed from SNFS by Carl Pomerance, Joe Buhler, Hendrik Lenstra, and Leonard Adleman
1991-IDEA designed by Xuejia Lai and James L. Massey
1991-MD5 developed by Ronald Rivest
1991-Wait-free synchronization developed by Maurice Herlihy
1992-Deutsch-Jozsa algorithm proposed by D. Deutsch and R. Jozsa
1993-Blowfish (cipher) developed by Bruce Schneier
1994-Shor’s algorithm developed by Peter Shor
1994-Burrows-Wheeler transform developed by Michael Bu.rrows and David Wheeler
1995-SHA-1 published by NIST
1996-Bruun’s algorithm generalised arbitrary even composite sizes by H. Murakami.
1996-Grover’s algorithm developed by Lov K. Grover
1996-RIPEMD-160 developed by Hans Dobbertin, Antoon Bosselaers, and Bart Preneel
1998-rsync algorithm developed by Andrew Tridgell
1999-Yarrow algorithm designed by Bruce Schneier, John Kelsey, and Niels Ferguson
2000-Rijndael cypher developed by Joan Daemen and Vincent Rijmen
2001-AES cypher (based on Rijndael) adopted by NIST
2002-AKS primality test developed by Manindra Agrawal, Neeraj Kayal and Nitin Saxena

  • Safari Books Online
  • Create BookmarkCreate Bookmark
  • Create Note or TagCreate Note or Tag
  • PrintPrint